SharePoint Saturday Atlanta 2014

Back on June 21st, I had the privilege of attending my first event of the year in Atlanta at the Georgia State University Student Center.

You can find out more about the event by going here.

The twitter feed for this event was #SPSATL and if you have a chance, I highly recommend you go back and check out all the content that was related to this one.

While I was there I had a chance to check out the following sessions:

“Anatomy of an Intranet” by Michael Greene Twitter Blog

“Use SharePoint as a viable Hybrid Approach to your Enterprise” by Eric Harlan Twitter Blog

“Windows Azure as a SharePoint Farm Restore Rehearsal Space” by Tyler Bithell Twitter Blog and Pablo Montequin Twitter

“The White Hat: hacking SharePoint On-Prem from Google Reconnaissance to Metasploit” by Joseph Irvine Blog

“Business Intelligence with SharePoint 2013 and SQL 2014” by Ivan Sanders Twitter Blog

My personal favorite of the day was the session on hacking SharePoint by Joseph Irvine. It gave me chills as to some steps I should be doing with my own SharePoint farms, but also gave many examples of businesses and organizations that show they just click next, next, next and then quit maintaining their servers.

Shame on them and shame on me too! Security for the most part isn’t too difficult, it just takes extra time that most people don’t have the time for. Until they get hacked or pwned.

The folks in charge of putting on this event did a great job! I look forward to these events whenever I can go because they always line up good speakers who can give you FREE training on something you want to learn more about. If there is an event going on close to you in the future it’s worth a tank of gas and a Saturday of your time to better yourself. Now go sign up!! 🙂

To learn more about upcoming events for SharePoint Saturdays head on over to http://spsevents.org

-BJ

Leave a Reply

